How to Change the Keyboard Language

by ContributorUpdated September 28, 2017
Thinkstock/Comstock/Getty Images

Windows includes numerous languages in its operating system. If you need to type in an additional language, you can add the keyboard language to Windows. After the desired languages are added, you can quickly toggle between them.

Navigate to the "Start" menu and select the "Control Panel" and "Clock, Language and Region."

Click on "Regional and Language Options." Select the "Keyboards and Languages" tab and then click "Change keyboards or other input methods."

Under Installed services, click "Add." The Add Input dialog appears.

Click on the language that you want to add. Click "OK." The additional language is subsequently added to the list of available keyboard languages. To set the new language as your default, select it from the list. Click "OK" to save the changes.


You must select one of your keyboards as a default. Choose the one that you will use most often.

Press the "Alt" and "Shift" keys simultaneously to quickly toggle between languages.

More Articles