How to Reset a Ricoh to Factory Settings
By Patrick Phelps
There may come a time when you need to reset your Ricoh copier back to its original factory settings. This can be caused by network changes, moving a copier to a new location, adding new accessories, or accidentally making a certain setting a default setting. Fortunately, the process to reset back to factory defaults can be accomplished in a few steps. It is important to note that while most Ricoh's are similar, some may require slightly different steps or may not have different buttons than other models. Reading your owners manual can provide assistance in these cases.
Back up address books stored in the Ricoh copier settings that you may need. Using your owner's manual, follow the process to back up any information that you do not want to lose. Resetting to factory defaults will erase all stored data.
Press the "./*" key and the "#" key on the Ricoh copier at the same time and hold for 10 seconds. Nothing will seem to happen until you hold both buttons down for the full 10 seconds. Once 10 seconds is reached, the copier will shut down and begin to re-boot. During this process, the Ricoh is resetting itself to factory default settings.
Test to make sure the process worked. By going through the menu options on the screen, you should notice that your old settings have been replaced and your address books have been cleared. If this is the case, your Ricoh copier has been reset to factory defaults. If not, check your owner's manual as the process for some Ricoh's may differ from this process.
Patrick Phelps began writing professionally in 1996 and has completed writing projects for many businesses, including the University of Southern California, Richard Emmott Marketing in the U.K. and Rydax Systems. Phelps holds a Bachelors of Arts in English and business management from LeMoyne College and is continuing his education in business management at State University of New York, Saratoga Springs.