How to Remove or Delete Facebook Notifications
Updated May 09, 2020
You can configure Facebook to send you notifications for practically every interaction you have on the platform, but if you have enabled several notifications, you can quickly become inundated with messages from the site. However, you can manage your Notifications list from your main profile page. To remove a notification from your Notifications list, you must “unfollow” the notification. When you unfollow a particular notification, you no longer receive messages when the notification’s criteria are met.
Log in to your Facebook profile, and then click the bell-shaped icon in the blue ribbon bar at the top. This will create a drop-down window of your most recent notifications.
Next to each notification, there are three small dots in a row. Clicking on this line of dots will reveal options such as "Remove this notification" and "Turn off notifications from this group." If you're no longer interested in receiving notifications from specific groups, choose the latter option.
There is no way to delete notification messages you have already viewed. Facebook saves all of your notification messages, but lists the most recent messages at the top of the list.
- There is no way to delete notification messages you have already viewed. Facebook saves all of your notification messages, but lists the most recent messages at the top of the list.
- Some critical Facebook notifications cannot be removed. If you do not see the “X” when you hover over the Notification entry, the notification cannot be deleted.
This article was written by a professional writer, copy edited and fact checked through a multi-point auditing system, in efforts to ensure our readers only receive the best information. To submit your questions or ideas, or to simply learn more, see our about us page: link below.