How to Put Your Facebook Account on Hold

by Ashley Donohoe

If you want to temporarily put your Facebook account on hold, you can use the site's deactivation option, which removes you from the site's people search and makes your Timeline information not visible. Unlike with account deletion, your Timeline data is not permanently deleted from Facebook's servers, so your friends, interests and pictures can be restored when you reactivate your account at a later time. You can choose to keep receiving friend notifications and invitations from Facebook or opt out of receiving them during your absence.

1

Sign in to your Facebook account. Click the down arrow button on the top menu and select "Account Settings."

2

Click the "Security" option in the list of settings and then click the "Deactivate Your Account" link.

3

Select the reason you've decided to leave Facebook. Some examples include privacy concerns, safety issues, hacking problems and receiving too many requests from the site. Use the "Please Explain Further" box if you have any comments you want Facebook to hear.

4

Click the "Opt Out of Receiving Future Emails from Facebook" check box if you no longer want to receive any notifications or invitations from friends after deactivation.

5

Click "Confirm" and type your password when prompted. Click "Deactivate Now" to put your account on hold.

Tip

  • check To take your account off hold, log in to Facebook again.

Warning

  • close Private messages may remain visible to your friends after deactivation.

About the Author

Ashley Donohoe has written business, technology and education articles professionally since 2010. Having a background in business and technology, she has completed undergraduate studies in business and computer science along with a Master of Business Administration.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images