How to Permanently Delete Private Messages in Facebook

By Andrew Tennyson

Through Facebook's Messages feature you can send private messages back and forth with your Facebook friends and contacts, much in the same way you send emails. These private messages are stored in a threaded chronological arrangement and are accessible via the Messages icon on your Facebook homepage. From the Messages window you can delete entire conversations or individual messages within a conversation.

Step 1

Click the "Messages" icon on your Facebook homepage. The Messages icon is located in the top left corner and resembles two small overlapping speech bubbles.

Step 2

Click the conversation containing the message or messages you want to delete. If it is not listed on the initial Messages pop-up window, click "See All" to view all of your private messages. Click the conversation on that list containing the message you want to delete.

Step 3

Click the "Actions" button and then click "Delete Messages" on the Actions drop-down menu.

Step 4

Click the check boxes located next to the messages you want to delete.

Click "Delete" and then click "Delete Messages" to confirm that you want to delete the selected messages.

×