How to Unregister a Facebook Account
By Jason Spidle
Facebook provides two methods for removing your profile from its site. The first method, referred to as “Deactivation,” effectively hides the profile from other viewers. While your account is deactivated, Facebook retains your profile data for future reactivation. The second method, referred to as “Deletion,” permanently removes your profile data from Facebook’s servers. Once a profile is deleted, it cannot be reactivated. For both actions, people will not find you in searches. Understanding the difference between the two methods is very important, as you don't want to lose your business's data if that is not your intention.
Deactivate Your Account
Go to Facebook and sign in to your account.
Click the “Account Menu” button and select “Account Settings.”
Click “Security” in the menu and click the “Deactivate Your Account” button.
Permanently Delete Your Account
Navigate to Facebook and sign in to your account.
Place your cursor in the URL text field in your Web browser, and type "facebook.com/help/delete_account" (without the quotes) and press “Enter."
Click “Delete My Account” to permanently remove your account information from the Facebook servers.
Before either deleting or deactivating your account, you can download your information from Facebook into an archive to be saved on your computer. See the link under the Resources section.
Jason Spidle is a technology enthusiast and writer. His writing on computers, smartphones, Web design, Internet applications, sports and music has been published at a variety of websites including Salon, JunkMedia, Killed in Cars and The Columbia Free Times. Spidle maintains a number of blogs featuring poetry, short stories and other fiction.