What Happens When You Do a System Restore on a Computer?
By Shanika Chapman
System Restore can be a real lifesaver if you have recently installed new software or new hardware drivers that have made your system unstable or completely unusable. System Restore is like a time machine for your computer, in which the user is able to restore a previous configuration from before problems began to occur.
Windows System Settings Are Reverted
The Windows Registry is restored to its state at the Restore Point, meaning that any programs installed since the Restore Point was established will need to be reinstalled, and Windows configuration changes you may have made will most likely be lost.
File Associations Are Changed
Different file types, such as video, pictures or spreadsheets, automatically open with a specified program. Any file associations will revert to their previous setting. Reinstalling the desired software will allow you to fix this easily.
New Files Are Not Deleted
Many inexperienced users worry that performing a System Restore will remove new files added or created since the restore point. This is not the case; while configurations are rolled back, personal data files are not removed.
Wallpaper Is Reset
One event that shocks many users into believing some of their data may have been lost is the change in their wallpaper. Despite this change, your personal files have not been affected.
A New Restore Point Is Created
After a System Restore has taken place, a new option is available in the System Restore window: "Undo my last restoration." This option allows you to utilize a new restore point created while the previous Restoration occurred.
Shanika Chapman has been writing business-related articles since 2009. She holds a Bachelor of Science in social science from the University of Maryland University College. Chapman also served for four years in the Air Force and has run a successful business since 2008.