How to Disable Secure Browsing on Facebook

by C. Taylor

Facebook's Secure Browsing feature encrypts your connection to Facebook to help prevent unauthorized access. When this feature is enabled, you'll notice that the Facebook URL changes from "HTTP..." to "HTTPS...," indicating the connection is secured. While this feature is helpful, it might also be annoying when you venture into areas or use apps that don't fully support this connection. When you cross that line between secured and insecure, you'll receive a warning. If you cross this line repeatedly and connect to Facebook only from a secure location, you might consider disabling the Secure Browsing feature to rid yourself of these frequent prompts.

1

Log in to your Facebook account.

2

Click the gear icon and select "Account Settings."

3

Click the "Security" tab and click "Edit" in the Secure Browsing section.

4

Uncheck "Browse Facebook on a Secure Connection (HTTPS) When Possible" and click "Save Changes."

5

Enter your account password and click "Submit."

More Articles

Photo Credits