How to Delete a Private Message on Facebook Using Your iPhone

by Avery Martin

The Facebook app for iPhone provides a convenient way to stay in touch with friends and family. When your inbox begins to fill up with old, outdated messages you can use either the Facebook app or the Facebook mobile website to delete old messages and clean up your inbox. Messages operate in much the same way an email does, and deleting a message does not remove the message from the recipient's inbox. Deleting a message only removes your copy of the message from your inbox.

1

Tap the "Facebook" application and select the "Messages" tab. Alternatively, navigate to the Facebook website using the Safari app (link in Resources).

2

Locate the message you want to delete and swipe from left to right across the message summary with your finger. You can also press and hold on the message until a list of options displays, including the option to delete, archive or mark the message as unread.

3

Tap the "Delete" option to delete the message.

Warning

  • Information in this article applies to iOS 7 and the Facebook app for iPhone. It may vary slightly or significantly with other versions or products.

About the Author

Avery Martin holds a Bachelor of Music in opera performance and a Bachelor of Arts in East Asian studies. As a professional writer, she has written for Education.com, Samsung and IBM. Martin contributed English translations for a collection of Japanese poems by Misuzu Kaneko. She has worked as an educator in Japan, and she runs a private voice studio out of her home. She writes about education, music and travel.

More Articles

Photo Credits