How to Delete a Backup That's Synced & Stored on Your Gmail Account

by Alan Sembera

Deleting your Android backup from your Gmail account allows you to activate your new smartphone or tablet without also installing the settings, passwords and app info from your old device. You must delete the backup using your old device before you register your Gmail account on the new device. Deleting the backup does not affect emails, contacts, photos and similar items synced with Gmail and Google.

1

Tap "Settings" on your old Android device.

2

Select "Privacy" on the Settings screen.

3

Remove the check mark next to "Back Up My Data."

4

Click "OK" on the message warning you that you are about to delete your backup on Google servers. Completing this action deletes only the backed-up device settings, passwords and app info backed up on Google's servers.

Tip

  • check You can also delete the backup before factory resetting your old device if you want to start fresh with new settings and apps.

Warning

  • close Information in this article applies to Android versions 2, 3 and 4. The options may vary in wording on some devices, and may not be available on others.

About the Author

Alan Sembera began writing for local newspapers in Texas and Louisiana. His professional career includes stints as a computer tech, information editor and income tax preparer. Sembera now writes full time about business and technology. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in journalism from Texas A&M University.

More Articles

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Jupiterimages/Creatas/Getty Images