How to Delete Archived Messages on Facebook Fast

By David Nield

Facebook keeps a record of your messages and chats whether you like it or not. Everything you type through the private messaging system is logged by default, though you do have the option to delete these archives at a later stage. Note that deleting messages doesn't affect the copies held by the other participants in the conversation. They'll still be able to read through the messages from their own inboxes even if you've erased your copy.

Step 1

Click on the "Messages" link on Facebook's menu. The most recent conversations are shown at the top of the list on the left. Select a conversation and its contents appear in the main window.

Step 2

Select any of the conversations shown and choose "Actions" then "Delete Conversation" to erase all of the messages the thread contains. Click "Delete Conversation" on the confirmation dialog to complete the process.

Step 3

Choose "Actions" and "Delete Messages" to delete individual messages rather than the entire conversation. Check boxes appear enabling you to select particular messages which can then be removed via the "Delete" button.

Step 4

Click "More" then "Archived" to access message threads that you've specifically archived to hide them from the inbox view. Select a message and choose "Actions" then "Delete Conversation" to erase it.

Type a contact's name into the search box at the top of the inbox or archived messages view to look for messages matching that contact. Delete conversations and individual messages using the options on the Actions menu.

×