How to Deactivate Netflix on Sony

by Brandy Alexander

Netflix makes its Internet streaming service for movies and TV shows available on your Sony device, but you can deactivate this service when you need to. For example, if you have a new Netflix account that you want to use or if you no longer have a Netflix membership, you can delete data so that you clear out the old information. Use the settings on your Sony Google TV, Sony Blu-ray or Sony PlayStation 3 to deactivate Netflix on your device.

Sony Google TV and Sony Blu-ray

1

Turn on your Sony device and press the "Home" key on your remote to navigate to the Google TV home screen.

2

Select "All Apps | Settings | Applications | Manage Applications" on your TV using the remote. Press the directional arrow to find Netflix and select this option.

3

Select "Clear Data" and select "OK" to finish clearing your Netflix settings on Sony.

4

Bring up Netflix on your TV and press the arrows on your remote in the following sequence: Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, Up, Up, Up, Up.

5

Select the "Deactivate" option to sign out of Netflix and finish deactivating your account.

Sony PlayStation 3

1

Bring up the PS3 Home screen on your Sony PlayStation 3, and use your controller to navigate to the TV/Video Services area. Select "Netflix" from the list of options.

2

Press the "X" button on the controller and immediately press and hold both the "Start" and "Select" buttons. Do not release the buttons until you see the "Do You Want to Reset Your Netflix Settings and Re-register?" message.

3

Select the "Yes" option to start the deactivation process.

About the Author

Brandy Alexander has been writing professionally since 2001. She is a glass artist with a Web design and technical writing background. Alexander runs her own art-glass business and has been a contributor to "Glass Line Magazine" as well as various online publications.

More Articles

Photo Credits