Consequences of Deactivating a Facebook Account
By Carolyn Luck
Business owners who wish to temporarily suspend Facebook usage have the option to do so with the deactivation feature. Facebook account deactivation enables you to retain your account without permanently deleting it, a useful option if you think you may return to Facebook in the future. Facebook account deactivation may not be right for every business owner, as there are some consequences to consider, including loss of Timeline visibility and admin privileges.
Loss of Visibility
Immediately upon deactivation, your Facebook Timeline disappears from view. Friends and potential customers can no longer search for you, send you messages or tag you in their posts, comments or photos. Facebook does, however, save all Timeline information, including friends, photos, interests and profile information, for future use. Should you decide to reactivate your account, everything will look just the way it did prior to deactivation.
Potential for Hackers
Facebook account deactivation leaves your account open to hacking. Unlike account deletion, which completely removes a user’s account, including all content, account deactivation places a Facebook account on hold. This means that, with the correct email address and password, anyone can log in to your account and steal your online Facebook identity. It is important to realize that anyone who can hack your email account can probably hack your Facebook account as well. If you are not planning on returning, it might be wise to permanently delete your Facebook account.
Reactivation Waiting Period
Facebook users who deactivate their accounts multiple times may face a mandatory 24-hour waiting period between account reactivation and first login. This is meant to urge members to take advantage of Facebook’s custom privacy settings instead of resorting to account deactivation. Once a reactivation request is submitted, a countdown ticker will appear on your login page, letting you know how much longer you must wait. Once the waiting period is over, you’ll receive an email from Facebook letting you know time is up.
Loss of Admin Privileges
Upon deactivating your Facebook account, you will immediately lose any admin privileges you had for your Facebook pages and groups. The pages and groups themselves will still work, provided there are other active members. You will no longer have the ability to edit settings and descriptions, appoint other admins or perform any other admin tasks. Designate an alternative admin prior to account deactivation. This will ensure that someone you know and trust has the admin privileges necessary to safeguard the integrity of the page or group.
Carolyn Luck has developed an extensive technical background in social media, online marketing, event planning, business development and small business management while serving as editor of "iMarketing Magazine." She has been published in "IPTV Magazine" and has contributed to many websites. Luck holds a bachelor's degree in sociology from the State University of New York at Stony Brook.