How to Close a Yahoo Mail Accountby Nick Peers
Close your Yahoo Mail account if you no longer use it or if you plan to move to another email provider. Yahoo deletes all your data and settings from all its services -- including HotJobs, Yahoo Small Business and Yahoo Geocities -- when you close your account. Furthermore, your Flickr account is deleted automatically when you close the account. Yahoo reserves the right to keep your personal information on its servers for up to 90 days to discourage fraudulent activity.
Close Your Yahoo Account
Open the "Terminating Your Yahoo Account" page (link in Resources), type your password into the field to verify your identity and then click "Terminate this account" to close the Yahoo Mail account. You must know your password to terminate the account. If you can't remember the password, open the "Yahoo Password Helper" page (link in Resources) and follow the instructions to recover it.
You can't close the account from the Yahoo Mail app on your mobile device. You can, however, terminate it from the "Terminating Your Yahoo Account" page in a mobile Web browser, if the browser can load the pages correctly. All paid services are terminated when you close the account; you can't recover payments made for these services. Furthermore, other people may be able to use your ID and profile name after you close the account.