Can You Start a New Facebook Account With an Email That Was Already Used?by Kefa Olang
When you sign up for Facebook, a single login email address must be attached to the account. Additional login email addresses can also be attached to the account. Any email address attached to your current Facebook account cannot be used to start a new Facebook account. If an email address is detached from an account, it can be used to start a new Facebook account.
If you currently have a Facebook account that's still active, you can't use any of the login emails currently in the account to set up a new Facebook account. An email address can't be linked to multiple accounts. For security and privacy reasons, an email can be used in only one account. As of January 2013, you can use multiple email addresses with one Facebook account.
Editing Login Email Addresses
If you delete one of your current login email addresses, you can use the deleted email address to create another Facebook account. An email address that's no longer attached to your current account is free for use with another account. Click the gear menu located next to the Home button on your Facebook account and click "Account Settings." If you click the "Edit" link located next to the Email Address section, you see a list of the email addresses associated with your account. Click the "Remove" link next to the email address to detach from your account and save your changes. Once deleted, the email address is no longer associated with your current account. If you're unable to log in to your account for whatever reason, Facebook doesn't recommend creating a new account. In fact, you won't be able to use the email addresses in the account to create another one until you resolve your login issues.
Deactivating a Facebook Account
If you deactivate your Facebook account, the email addresses associated with the account can't be used to create another Facebook account. A deactivated account is hidden from view; however, email addresses attached to the account are still active. When you deactivate your Facebook account, people on Facebook won't be able to search for you or view your Timeline. All information including login emails are temporarily disabled. If you decide to come back to Facebook, you can use the same emails to reactivate the account.
Closing a Facebook Account
If you close your Facebook account, the email addresses associated with the account can be used to create a new Facebook account at a later time. Unlike deactivating Facebook, closing your account removes saved information including emails. A Facebook account that's permanently deleted can't be retrieved; therefore, all of the information in the account is lost completely. Emails associated with the account are no longer attached to it, which means you can use them to create a new account anytime.
- Jupiterimages/Comstock/Getty Images