x

Can My Facebook Profile Be Viewed After Deactivation?

by Carolyn Luck

The process of deactivation leaves you with a completely inaccessible Facebook account until you decide to reactivate. Immediately following the process, your profile, content, friend lists and Facebook existence completely disappear from view. Should you decide to return, it’ll all be waiting for you when you get back. Until such time, nothing is visible.

Account Deactivation

Once you deactivate your Facebook account, your profile immediately disappears from view. You cannot see it and neither can anyone else. Until you reactivate your account, you’ll have no access to it, which means you cannot make any changes, upload photos or view previous content. Facebook members will not be able to find your Facebook profile in search results, on Facebook or externally.

Account Reactivation

To regain visibility of your account, reactivate it by logging in with your existing email address and password. It’s important that you maintain access to your original email account for the reactivation process. Facebook will send a confirmation link to that email address, which you must be able to click in order to complete the process. Once reactivated, you will be able to view your account in its entirety. Your profile, timeline and news feed will be fully restored, as will your friends lists, photos and all other associated content.

Compromised Accounts

If you receive a reactivation email message from Facebook containing a confirmation link, but you did not initiate the reactivation process, it’s possible that your account has been compromised. Someone else may have attempted to log in to your account, which means your account is no longer secure. You must immediately reset your password to prevent further damage. If someone gains access to your email address and reactivates your Facebook account, it will be visible and fully accessible until you regain control and secure it.

Additional Considerations

If you deactivate your Facebook account multiple times, you may notice that, upon reactivation, you’re required to wait 24 hours before gaining full access to your account. This is to encourage you to take advantage of alternative measures in lieu of deactivation. Adjust your privacy settings to restrict the visibility of your content to anyone but yourself. You can prevent everyone from seeing your Facebook presence by opting for the most restrictive privacy settings, which offers very similar results to those you’d experience with the deactivation process.

How to Deactivate

Deactivate your account by clicking the gear-shaped icon in the upper-right corner of any page and choosing the “Account Settings” option from the resulting drop-down menu. Select the “Security” tab from the left-side panel on the resulting page and choose the “Deactivate Your Account” option. Follow prompts in the resulting dialog box to confirm account deactivation.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by Techwalla
Brought to you by Techwalla

More Articles