Is It Permanent When You Delete Instagram?

by Andrea Ruiz
Comstock/Stockbyte/Getty Images

When you delete an Instagram account, the service permanently removes all of your content, including your photos, videos, followers and following list, and profile information. After you've deleted Instagram, you can't reactivate your account, nor can you get back any content you haven't saved. Additionally, Instagram won't allow you to sign up for a new account with your old username.

How to Delete an Instagram Account

You can't delete your Instagram account on your phone's app. Instead, you must log in to your account on the Instagram website. Then, click your username in the main menu and select "Edit Profile" from the drop-down menu. Click the "I'd Like to Delete My Profile" link, and then confirm that you truly want to delete it. Instagram immediately deactivates your account. Additionally, deleting an individual photo or video on your account is also permanent and immediate and your content cannot be recovered.

References

Photo Credits

  • Comstock/Stockbyte/Getty Images

About the Author

Andrea Ruiz has written professionally for blogs, online entertainment magazines and television network websites for more than a decade. Ruiz has also been a web and social media developer, Internet business consultant and computer programmer since 1999, and worked for four years as a professional community manager. Ruiz holds a Bachelor of Arts from University of Massachusetts, Boston.

More Articles

×