Can You Delete Your Main Tumblr Account?by David Nield
Tumblr allows you to delete your account at any time through the settings page. Before deleting your account, make sure you understand the consequences. The action deletes all your blogs -- both primary and secondary -- and the content on them, and erases any Tumblr credits you currently hold.
Deleting your Account
You can delete your account using the "Delete Account" button at the bottom of the Tumblr settings page or on the Manage Your Accounts and Blogs page accessible through the Tumblr Help Center. Before you can delete your account, you reach a confirmation screen that prompts you for your blog's URL and the email address and password you use to sign in to Tumblr. When you provide this information and confirm the action, your account and all its associated blogs are deleted.
Primary and Secondary Blogs
You may only have one blog associated with your Tumblr account, but accounts can have several blogs linked to them. Your primary blog is the first one created when you first register your Tumblr account. Secondary blogs are added afterward. They offer features such as password protection and multiple membership. When you delete your account, your primary blog is erased and you are removed from all secondary blogs you are a member of; if these blogs have other members, they remain running.
Credits and Themes
Deleting a Tumblr account erases everything associated with it. All the Tumblr credits linked to your account are deleted and cannot be recovered or refunded. If you've purchased any premium themes, these are erased unless you request Tumblr move them to another blog; contact Tumblr support directly using the "Email Us Here" link at the bottom of the Account Management page concerning premium themes. All custom CSS code and images associated with your blog's layout and styling are deleted along with the blog contents.
Reactivating Your Tumblr
It is not possible to recover the contents of your previous blogs after you delete your main Tumblr account. However, the email address and blog URLs associated with your account are made available again, so you can sign up afresh using the same credentials, assuming no one else has claimed the blog address on Tumblr in the meantime. Even if you sign up again with the same email address and blog URL, all your previous followers, posts, likes and other account data is lost.