x

How to Clear Out the NETGEAR N300 Router & Start Over

by Blaze JohnsonUpdated September 28, 2017

The Netgear N300 is a consumer-grade Wireless N computer networking router, designed to accommodate high bandwidth activities such as online gaming and video streaming. In addition to programmable parental controls, wireless security settings and firewall protection, the N300 allows users to setup additional SSID guest networks. If you are unable to access the router's internal configuration settings, or you are experiencing other difficulties, resetting the router to the default factory configuration may solve the problem. Clearing out the router settings will also eliminate the tedious task of pinpointing and changing specific settings as well.

Straighten a paper clip and insert one end into the reset hole, located on the back of the router and labeled “Restore Factory Settings.”

Hold the recessed button with the paper clip until the router's power light flashes. When the power light begins to flash, remove the paper clip.

Open a Web browser on your computer and enter “http://www.routerlogin.net” in the address bar. Press "Enter" and wait for the security dialog box to appear. If the computer is using a wireless connection, make sure the wireless adapter is connected to the default “NETGEAR” SSID.

Type “admin” for the user name and “password” for the password field; press "Enter" to access the router configuration page. Examine the configuration page and reconfigure the wireless, security and other pertinent settings, as needed. Click “Apply” to save the settings.

Close the configuration page to finish the process.

Tips

Be sure to reconfigure the security settings for any wireless devices that will connect to the router, if using a different SSID, security setting and/or password to gain access to the router.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by Techwalla
Brought to you by Techwalla

More Articles