x

How Do You Turn Off the Chat Box in "Runescape" When You Start?

by Anthony Wade PearsonUpdated September 22, 2017

The online game RuneScape has many chat features that are controllable by each user. There are controls for public, private, friends and clan chat. You can turn each of these options on or off, which becomes useful when more concentration is needed. Players who need to avoid any interruptions, such as while in a boss battle, may choose to turn off all chat to avoid distractions.

Click “All” on the chat controls to hide the chat window. This option is on by default and displays all selected chat types within the chat window. This does not stop all chat, but simply hides the chat box from view.

Right-click “Game” on the chat controls and select “Filter” to remove repetitive messages such as “You catch a fish” from the game or “All” to show the message each time.

Right-click “Public” on the chat controls and select “On Public” to see all public chat, “Friends Public” to see only friends chat in public, “Off Public” to turn all public chat off or “Hide Public” to not display your words in the chat box. In hide mode, your chat words will appear above your head as usual.

Right-click “Private” on the chat controls and select “On Private” to allow all private messages, “Friends Private” to allow private messages from only those on your friends list or “Off Private” to not allow any private messages.

Right-click “Friends” on the chat controls and select “On Friends Chat” to view messages from any friends chat channel you are on, “Friends Friends Chat” to display only messages in the friends chat channel from those who are on your friends list or “Off Friends Chat” to hide all friends chat channel messages.

Right-click “Clan” on the chat controls and select “On Clan” to view messages from any clan chat channel you are on, “Friends Clan” to display only messages in the clan chat channel from those who are on your friends list or “Off Clan” to hide all clan chat channel messages.

Tips

If you hide the chat box, it will remain hidden until you log off, unless you activate it again. This will not prevent it from appearing the next time you log on.

Clicking any of the chat buttons will cause the chat box to only display that chat type.

You can allow or block trade and assist requests this way also.

The “Public” chat option is on by default whenever you log on.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by Techwalla
Brought to you by Techwalla

More Articles