x

How to Remove Recently Watched Movies for Netflix on Your Xbox

by J. Anthony CooleyUpdated September 22, 2017

The “Recently Watched” menu on Netflix is the first section of movies displayed when you log in to the service from your Xbox 360. This can be problematic when you are watching a movie with company, and right there on display for everyone to see in your “Recently Watched” menu is a program or movie you are embarrassed to be caught watching. Netflix does not have a “delete” option for items in this menu. This makes many subscribers angry with the Netflix service for not considering their customers’ privacy. Even though there is no delete button, there is a little-known workaround that you can use to delete the programs from your “Recently Watched” menu.

Temporarily Removing Recently Watched Movies

Go to the Netflix website and click “Member Sign-in” at the top-right corner of the screen. You are taken to the “Member Sign-in Screen.” Enter the email address you registered for Netflix with and your Netflix password into the proper fields and click “Continue.”

Click on “Your Account and Help” at the top-right corner of the screen. Navigate down to the “Preferences” section and click “Change Parental Control Settings.” Change the settings to “Rated G or Below” and click “Continue.

Sign out of Netflix then restart your Xbox 360 and sign in to your account. Your recently watched movies are now empty. Signing back into your Netflix account using Step 1 and Step 2 and changing the parental control settings back to how you had them allows you to regain access to a higher parental rating but also puts the "Recently Watched" menu and the movies and shows contained in it back on-screen.

Canceling and Creating a Netflix Account

Go to the Netflix website and click “Member Sign-in” at the top-right corner of the screen. You are then taken to the “Member Sign-in Screen.” Enter the email address you registered for Netflix with and your Netflix password into the proper fields and click “Continue.”

Click on “Your Account and Help” at the top-right corner of the screen. Click the "Cancel Account" link. Read the terms of your account's cancellation and follow the directions given by the website. If your account has already been billed for the month you will not be able to access the site after cancellation or receive a reimbursement for any unused days in the billing period.

Go to the Netflix homepage and and navigate to the "Start Your One Month Free Trial" section. Fill in your email address and confirm it, then type in a password and type it into the next field to confirm it. Although the section is labeled "Start Your One Month Free Trial" you are not eligible for the free trial as a former member so you will be signing up for a paid membership again. Fill in your payment information and agree to the terms and conditions. Because this is a new account, all the information from your old account is gone including your "Recently Watched" menu.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by Techwalla
Brought to you by Techwalla

More Articles