x

How to Delete Names in a Facebook Search

by Rob HarrisUpdated September 28, 2017

To delete a name in a Facebook search, you must block the user whose name you want to delete. The main purpose of blocking a person is to keep him from seeing your profile on Facebook, but it also keeps you from seeing his information. Blocking prevents you from searching for that person until you choose to unblock him -- it deletes him from your searches. Blocking also removes all ties, such as confirmed Facebook friendships and the ability to send messages.

Privacy Settings

Log into Facebook. In the upper-right corner, click on "Account" and then "Privacy Settings."

Find "Block Lists" in the center of the page near the bottom. Choose "Edit Your Lists."

Enter the name or email address of the person you want to block. Click "Block This User."

Choose the correct person from the pop-up list. Click "Block."

Profile Page

Log into Facebook. Type the name of the person you want to block in the "Search" box at the top of the page.

Click on the person's profile page to open it.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on "Report/Block This Person" on the left side. Place a check beside "Block This Person." Click "Submit."

Tips

The Facebook user is not notified when you block her.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by Techwalla
Brought to you by Techwalla

More Articles