How to Delete My First Save File on "Pokemon Heart Gold"

by Joshua Phillips ; Updated September 22, 2017

"Pokemon HeartGold" was released for the Nintendo DS in 2010. "HeartGold" only includes one save file. If you wish to start the game over on a new file, you must first delete your old save. Once your save is deleted, all captured Pokemon, any earned items and your character will be erased. There is no option to delete your save from the main menu. To delete a saved game, you must press and hold a specific combination of buttons.

Turn on your Nintendo DS and start "Pokemon HeartGold."

Press "Start" at the title screen to access the main menu.

Press and simultaneously hold "Up," "B" and "Select."

Select "Yes." Your saved data will be permanently erased.

Tip

  • These steps also apply to "Pokemon SoulSilver."

Tip

  • Once erased, there is no way to recover your "HeartGold" data.

References

About the Author

Joshua Phillips has done it all when it comes to video games: strategy guides, previews, reviews, in-depth interviews with developers and extensive public relations work. He has written for websites such as Hardcore Gaming 101 and MyInsideGamer.