How to Remove History From Bing

by Craig Witt ; Updated September 28, 2017

By default, Microsoft's Bing search engine tracks every query you enter. This behavior starts the first time you run a Bing search and the data is not automatically cleared until one of two things happen: 28 days have passed, or you sign out of your Windows Live ID account. If you are concerned about your privacy and want to prevent anyone from viewing your search history, Bing gives you the option to manually clear this data instead. Once you know where to look, removing your history from Bing requires just a few clicks.

Navigate to the Bing home page (see "Resources" section.)

Click the "Search History" link on the left side of the window.

Click the "EDIT HISTORY" heading to view the list of available options.

Click the "Clear" link.

Click the "Yes, clear all search history" link.

Tip

  • To properly clear your Bing search history, both JavaScript and cookies must be enabled in your browser. You can also turn off the search history feature by clicking the "Turn history off" link on the left side of your search history page.

About the Author

Craig Witt has written professionally since 2005 in the public and private sectors as a journalist, marketing copywriter and public relations professional. He most often writes consumer software and hardware how-to articles for eHow. Witt has a Bachelor of Arts in communications from the University of Washington.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Todd Warnock/Lifesize/Getty Images