x

How to Clear the Memory on a Used DS Game

by Kayla LoweUpdated September 22, 2017
Kiyoshi Ota/Getty Images News/Getty Images

The Nintendo DS is among the most popular gaming systems currently on the market. Numerous games exist for it, but unlike many gaming systems, some Nintendo DS games store the game’s memory data internally rather than on the Nintendo DS console itself. This can be disadvantageous, especially if the game is used because your scores and data will be affected by the previous memory stored on the game. Luckily, you can clear the memory on a used DS game with the appropriate sequence.

Turn on the Nintendo DS and start the used DS game whose memory you wish to clear.

Hold down the "Left," "Right" and "Select" buttons before the game finishes loading.

Let go of the buttons just before you see the game menu. This resets the game’s internal memory.

Tips

Check the game’s high score lists and other records to ensure that the memory was cleared.

Warnings

The sequence must be performed at start-up before the game finishes loading in order to work.

More Articles