How to Quit Facebook and Delete Your Profile

by eHow Contributor ; Updated September 28, 2017

Facebook is one of the largest social networking websites on the Internet, with more than 600 million users worldwide, according to a January 2011 report by Goldman Sachs. Facebook allows you to create a personal profile and interact with friends through comments, messages, photos and videos. Some individuals find that Facebook takes up too much of their personal time. When you deactivate your Facebook account, your profile and personal information no longer appear on the site.

Notify your Facebook friends that you are quitting Facebook and deleting your profile. Give your friends time to establish other methods of contacting you, such as email or instant messaging.

Download and save any Facebook data or information that you wish to keep.

Click "Account" in the top right-hand corner of your Facebook page. Click "Account Settings."

Select the "Settings" tab." Scroll down and click "Deactivate."

Answer the questions in the dialog box that appears regarding why you want to quit Facebook. Click "Confirm" to deactivate your Facebook profile and quit Facebook.

About the Author

This article was created by a professional writer and edited by experienced copy editors, both qualified members of the Demand Media Studios community. All articles go through an editorial process that includes subject matter guidelines, plagiarism review, fact-checking, and other steps in an effort to provide reliable information.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images