How to Remove Saved Websites in Google Chrome

by Joshua Phillips

When you want to delete a bookmark, you can do so in Google Chrome in two different ways: by deleting it directly through the Bookmark Manager, Chrome's name for its native bookmark organizer tool, or through the bookmarked page itself. In addition, Chrome also gives you the ability to reverse the deletion of a bookmark through its Bookmark Manager, just in case you accidentally delete the wrong bookmark.

1

Open the Chrome menu, hover your mouse over "Bookmarks" and click "Bookmark Manager."

2

Hover your mouse over the bookmark you want to delete and click the downwards arrow on the right side of the bookmark.

3

Click "Delete" from the drop-down menu to delete the bookmark from Chrome.

4

Click "Organize" followed by "Undo Delete" in the drop-down menu to undo the deletion of a bookmark. However, once you close the Bookmark Manager, you can no longer undo a bookmark's deletion.

Tip

  • check You can also remove a bookmark by navigating to the bookmarked site in Google Chrome, clicking the icon of a yellow star in the address bar and clicking "Remove." The yellow star will change to an empty star, signifying that Chrome removed the saved website.

Warning

  • close Information in this article applies to Google Chrome version 23.0.1271.64. It may vary slightly or significantly with other versions of the software.

About the Author

Joshua Phillips has done it all when it comes to video games: strategy guides, previews, reviews, in-depth interviews with developers and extensive public relations work. He has written for websites such as Hardcore Gaming 101 and MyInsideGamer.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Image courtesy of Yahoo