How to Recover Lost Google Chrome Settings

by Todd Bowerman
Chrome syncs your settings to your Google account.

Chrome syncs your settings to your Google account.

If you're moving to a new computer and need to re-install all of your applications, it is inevitable that some preferences and settings will be lost. Google's Chrome browser, when installed fresh, does not retain any custom bookmarks or settings you created on the old install. However, these settings and options are backed up to your Google account, and you can automatically recover them by simply signing in to your Google account.

1

Download the most recent version of Chrome (see Resources), and then start the installer.

2

Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the Chrome install. When the installer finishes, a new Chrome window opens automatically.

3

Click the Chrome menu button -- marked with three horizontal lines -- in the upper right-hand corner of the screen, and then select “Sign in to Chrome.”

4

Click “OK, Sync everything” to allow the Chrome browser to sync its settings, bookmarks, history and other elements with your Google account.

Tip

  • check If you never signed in to your original Chrome install via Google, your bookmarks and settings will not be backed up and will be permanently lost.

Warning

  • close Information in this article applies to Google Chrome version 30.0.1599.101. It may vary slightly or significantly with other versions.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images News/Getty Images