How to Not Let Someone See Your Facebook Through Google

by Tricia Goss

You can modify your Facebook profile privacy settings so that only your friends can see your posts and your name won't appear in Facebook search results. It's also possible to block specific users from viewing your comments and shared content, even if you have friends in common. For even greater privacy, you may want to restrict Google and other search engines from linking to your timeline in search results.

1

Log in to your Facebook account. Click the gear icon near the top right of any page and select "Privacy Settings" to access the "Privacy Settings and Tools" options.

2

Scroll down to "Do You Want Other Search Engines to Link to Your Timeline?" and click the "Edit" link in the "Who Can Look Me Up?" section.

3

Clear the check box for the "Let Other Search Engines Link to Your Timeline" option, and then click "Confirm." Click "Close" and return to your Facebook home page or Timeline.

Tip

  • check You can edit your sharing settings in the "Who Can See My Stuff" section of the Privacy Settings and Tools.

Warning

  • close If any of your posts are set to public or if you comment on Facebook Pages, open groups or the Facebook Community Forum, these posts could appear in search results.

About the Author

Tricia Goss' credits include Fitness Plus, Good News Tucson and Layover Magazine. She is certified in Microsoft application and served as the newsletter editor for OfficeUsers.org. She has also contributed to The Dollar Stretcher, Life Tips and Childcare Magazine.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Comstock/Comstock/Getty Images