When You Look at Someone's Profile on Facebook, Will She Know?

by Melly Parker
When you browse Facebook without interacting, you are anonymous.

When you browse Facebook without interacting, you are anonymous.

Not every contact on Facebook is your best friend; you may be connected to coworkers, previous classmates or people you've met once or twice. If you're not close to a person, you may not be comfortable with him knowing you've looked at his profile. Under normal circumstances, a person will not know that you've opened his timeline, even if you scroll back to past posts.

Timeline

A Facebook person's profile, or timeline, is a list of her posts, likes, photos and other Facebook activity going back to the beginning of her account. Being friends with a person doesn't guarantee that you can see all of her posts. Certain posts may be restricted to particular groups, networks or people. The posts you're allowed to see will be displayed as you scroll down through her timeline.

Programs

Many websites claim to offer software to help you know who's looking at your timeline. These programs don't work; Facebook is designed so that you are anonymous when you view pages -- no one knows which pages you view unless you make posts. Apps may promise to help you find who's looking at your timeline, but these are just a scam to get you to install them and share your information.

Notifications

If you like or comment on a person's page, she will get a notification about the interaction; she will know you've looked at her timeline. As you scroll through posts, take care to make sure you don't accidentally click "Like" on an item. If you do, click "unlike" right away to remove the notification from her alerts. Comment notifications can't be removed, since they're emailed to a user's email account.

Facebook Privacy

Even though the person whose profile you're looking at has no way of knowing you were on his timeline, Facebook knows. All site activities, including the profiles you visit, are recorded by Facebook. This information, however, will not be shared with anyone. People who access your browsing history from your computer will also know which profiles you've visited unless you delete your history.

About the Author

Melly Parker has been writing since 2007, focusing on health, business, technology and home improvement. She has also worked as a teacher and a bioassay laboratory technician. Parker now serves as a marketing specialist at one of the largest mobile app developers in the world. She holds a Master of Science in English.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Jupiterimages/Brand X Pictures/Getty Images