What Happens When I Empty My Virus Vault in AVG Anti-Virus?

by G.S. Jackson

Working with anti-virus software such as AVG requires you to understand a little about how the software identifies and dispatches infected files. It is not enough to simply delete all infected files, and a program such as AVG cannot feasibly find and remove all viruses from all files. AVG's Virus Vault allows you to quarantine files until they can be analyzed or deleted. If you find that the files in the vault are infected and better deleted, you can simply empty the vault to remove all of them.

Virus Detection

Antivirus software such as AVG begin by identifying viruses; this is typically done by scanning your hard drive. AVG will scan your hard drive, including all files on the drive, in order to locate "signatures" of viruses. Signatures include code that a virus or type of virus typically contains. Virus checkers can also scan your main memory, where programs execute, in order to locate viruses that only show up when they or another program runs.

Identification and Quarantine

Once the virus is identified, it is quarantined. This process involves taking the file in which the virus resides and "removing" it from the system. That is, for all intents and purposes of the operating system, the file no longer exists. This keeps the system from trying to access the file, and it prevents the virus from interacting with the system. This can also mean that AVG will quarantine other files or important system files should they become compromised.

AVG Virus Vault

The AVG virus vault is such a quarantine space specifically used by AVG. They vault contains deleted virus files that you can restore should you find that infected files are affecting the workings of your system. This way, should the absent file affect the system, you can have AVG analyze the file and determine how to remove the virus, or find a way to replace the file or restore your system to a more secure state.

Emptying the Virus Vault

One option you have of dealing with files in the Virus Vault is to delete them. If you do not require the file and it is infected, this may be the best option. Deleting the file will remove the file from your hard disk permanently without sending it to your Recycle Bin. When you empty the Virus Vault, you are permanently deleting all files currently within the vault. While this may be desirable, make sure that before you empty the vault that you do not need any of the files.

About the Author

G.S. Jackson specializes in topics related to literature, computers and technology. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in English and computer science from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images