Why Do I Lose Connectivity on a Remote Desktop?by Marie Lowe
Remote Desktop is a software program for Windows that allows you to remotely connect to computers running Remote Assistance, Windows Server, Terminal Services and Remote Desktop Services. While connected to a remote desktop server, you may find you periodically lose connectivity. Determining the reason for the disconnection is an important first step in resolving this problem.
If you or the server encounters a network error, its state will not be maintained and the client will time out. This happens because a constant flow of communication is required to maintain a TCP link. Once this communication has been severed, there will be a lack of information flowing between the client and server and a disconnect will occur.
If the remote desktop-compatible computer is disconnected, the system may have restarted or crashed. Although most servers have planned update schedules that happen automatically, checking your system for its current "uptime" will identify the moment of last restart. The number of days, hours and minutes since the last restart is found by opening a new Windows command prompt and typing "net statistics server." The "Statistics since.." field lists the amount of time.
Idle Timeout Settings
The "Remote Desktop Session Host Configuration" utility is installed with Remote Desktop systems and allows users to specify how to configure Remote Desktop settings, including the idle timeout period when an inactive user will be automatically disconnected. It is available from the "Administrative Tools" menu. From here, right-click "Connections," and then "Properties" and set a new timeout value in minutes in the "Override user settings" field.
Administrators on a system running Terminal Services will see you logged in using the "Terminal Services Manager" application, available from the "Administrative Tools" section of the Start Menu on Windows Server. If an administrator right-clicks your name, then clicks "Log out," your session will be immediately expired and your account logged out.