How to Disappear Temporarily From Facebook

by Nick Peers

If you don't want specific people to be able to find you on Facebook -- at least for some time -- you can disable your account. As soon as you disable your Facebook account, you basically disappear from the Facebook service. Your Timeline will not appear in search results and will be inaccessible to other Facebook users. However, your comments will not be deleted or hidden from other people's Timelines and photos.

Disable Your Facebook Account

Navigate to the Account Settings page after you log in to your Facebook account and then select "Security" from the left pane. Click the "Deactivate your account" link near the bottom of the page and then choose a reason from the "Reason for leaving" section. If you want to also close your open groups, choose the "Change all open groups to closed" option. If you select the "Opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook" option, you will not receive any emails from Facebook. Click "Confirm," enter your Facebook password and click "Deactivate Now" to deactivate the account. To reactivate the account, simply log in using your email and password.

About the Author

Nick Peers has been writing technology-related articles since 2003. His articles have appeared in dozens of technical publications, including MSN UK, CNET, BBC Who Do You Think You Are, LifeHacker UK and TechRadar. He holds a Masters in information technology degree from the University of East London.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Comstock/Stockbyte/Getty Images