How to Delete a Tumblr Post With Notes

by Sarah Barnes

Once you put something out there online, it can be hard to get it back. This is especially true on Tumblr, a social content-sharing site that makes it easy to repost your friends' content on your own blog. Deleting a post from your Tumblr page will not delete any reblogs of that content on others' sites, and those reblogs will continue to show any notes, such as likes and comments, from other users. Before you post, make sure you're OK with the content being out there somewhere on the Web for years to come.

1

Find the post you want to delete on your Tumblr page or dashboard.

2

Click "Delete," then "OK" on the dialog box that pops up.

3

Contact the users who have reblogged your post and ask them nicely to delete it as well. This is the only way to make the content truly disappear from Tumblr's servers. If the content violates Tumblr's Content Policy, email the URL to support@tumblr.com; spam, copyright violations, certain types of offensive content and other posts that violate the guidelines may be removed by Tumblr's technical team.

Tip

  • check For a fee, services such as Reputation.com can help you get objectionable content linked to your name removed from the Internet. However, free speech still prevails on most websites; Tumblr generally allows blogs that criticize, or snark, on other users, which may include reblogging their content.

About the Author

Sarah Barnes has been a professional writer and editor since 2004. She has been published in newspapers and regional magazines in the Wichita, Kansas area. Barnes holds a Bachelor of Arts in journalism from a Midwestern university.