How to Delete a Facebook Account Forever

by Stephanie D

You may want to delete a Facebook account forever if you are concerned about the privacy of your information. When you delete a Facebook account, you will not be able to reactivate the account or access any of the information (e.g., friend pages, messages or photos) again. In addition to completely deleting your Facebook account, you can also choose to deactivate your account, which effectively puts your account on hold and makes your account inaccessible to other Facebook users.

Log in to your Facebook account.

Download and save any photos, messages, contacts or other information.

Send a request to Facebook to delete the account using Facebook's Request Account Deletion page (see Resources).

About the Author

Stephanie D has been writing and exploring the outdoors for as long as she can remember. She has spent time climbing across the United States and backpacking out west. Stephanie D earned her Bachelor of Science in computer science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera red botton delete in macro image by Alexey Klementiev from Fotolia.com