If I Delete Cookies, Will I Delete Passwords?

by C. Taylor

Deleting cookies removes session login information, including the previously entered username and password. This means you have to log in to the site again. However, deleting cookies does not affect passwords you saved in your browser, so when you revisit a site, your browser may automatically fill in the login page with your saved username and password. Internet Explorer and Firefox both offer separate options for deleting cookies or passwords.

Internet Explorer

1

Press "Ctrl-Shift-Delete" in Internet Explorer to open the Delete Browsing History window. Alternatively, click the "Tools" icon, "Safety" and then "Delete Browsing History."

2

Click "Cookies and Website Data" to place a check mark in the box next to the option.

3

Remove the check mark next to "Preserve Favorites Websites Data" to also delete cookies for your favorite sites.

4

Uncheck all other boxes, especially the box next to "Passwords." By keeping the Passwords box unchecked, you will not delete saved passwords.

5

Click "Delete" to remove cookies.

Firefox

1

Press "Ctrl-Shift-Delete" to open the Clear Recent History window. Alternatively, click the "Firefox" button, "History" and then "Clear Recent History."

2

Click the downward arrow next to the Details heading to expand it.

3

Activate the "Cookies" check box.

4

Uncheck all other boxes.

5

Click the top drop-down menu and select "Everything."

6

Click "Clear Now" to delete cookies without deleting passwords.

Tip

  • check There is not an option to delete passwords in Firefox's Clear Recent History window. Instead, that option resides in the Options window. Click "Firefox | Options | Security | Saved Passwords | Remove All" to access it.

Warning

  • close Information in this article applies to Firefox 18 and Internet Explorer 10 on Windows 8. It may vary slightly or significantly with other versions or products.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera BananaStock/BananaStock/Getty Images