Can Someone Get Information Off of a Deactivated Facebook Page?by Kefa Olang
A Facebook page is deactivated when the account associated with it is deactivated. Once deactivated, friends, and even others on Facebook will not be able to get information, including pictures, videos and status posts off the page until the account is reactivated.
About Facebook Account Deactivation
When you deactivate your Facebook account, your Facebook page is also automatically deactivated, and immediately hidden from view. Although pages are public and can be viewed by anyone, they are tied to specific accounts. If you delete your account, Facebook members will lose the ability to find the page or your timeline. When you deactivate your account, Facebook stores your information, such as photos, videos, profile and security settings; however, page information is hidden from others until you reactivate it. An account deactivation is primarily used as a temporary action, just in case you decide to reopen your account. Unless you deactivate your Facebook account together with your page, anyone, including your friends, will be able to get information off of the page.
Deactivating Your Facebook Account
You can deactivate your Facebook account anytime you want. To do so, click the gear menu in your account and click "Account Settings." Click the "Security" link to view a list of your security settings. The "Deactivate your account" link appears at the bottom of the list. If you click it and confirm your selection, your Facebook account, including your page, is deactivated immediately. The page no longer appears in a search.
When you reactivate your Facebook account, your page is also reactivated. Once reactivated, anyone will be able to get information off of it. When you are ready to reactivate your Facebook account to display your page, simply sign in to your account using your login information; there is no special reactivation process. If you don't remember your login email address and password, click the "Forgot your password" link on the Facebook login page and follow the guided prompts to reset your password.
When you deactivate your Facebook account, your page will remain active only if it has one or more additional administrators. Page administrators can modify a page's settings, including editing security settings, and posting content, such as pictures and videos. If administrators have open Facebook accounts, someone can get information off of the page even if you deactivate your own Facebook account because additional administrators keep the page open.
- photo_camera Pixland/Pixland/Getty Images
Click here to provide feedback on this article