Can You Block Who Sees What You Like on Other People's Facebook Pages?

by Danielle Fernandez

Facebook is an effective way of communicating with your family and friends, but without the appropriate security settings configured, your site activity is publicized to everyone on your friends list. When you like an item on another user's timeline, for example, it is listed and made available for liking to other users as well. You can implement various security settings and hide this information from all or some of your friends.

Blocking Items Liked on About Me

1

Log in to your Facebook account and navigate to your timeline.

2

Select "About" under your cover photo and scroll to the section where you want to edit your likes. For example, scroll to the Books section to manage what books you have liked and who is able to see them.

3

Choose the pencil icon at the top-right corner of the section and select "Edit Privacy."

4

Use the audience selector to select who can see things you've liked in that section.

Blocking Items Liked From Activity Log

1

Log in to Facebook and click the "Privacy Shortcuts" icon, which looks like a padlock next to three lines, at the top right of any page.

2

Select "Who Can See My Stuff?" and then select "Use Activity Log."

3

Click "Likes" on the left side and locate the liking activity you want to manage.

4

Click the pencil icon to the right of an individual like to manage its privacy settings.

Blocking Other Users Entirely

1

Click the "Privacy Shortcuts" icon, which looks like a padlock and three horizontal lines, at the top right of any Facebook page.

2

Select "How Do I Stop Someone From Bothering Me?" and enter the name or email address of the person you want to block.

3

Click "Block" and then select the specific person you want to block from the list that appears.

Tips

  • check Your privacy settings are never publicized to your friends, which means none of them are ever made aware of what content is and is not being shown to them. You never have to worry that Facebook will notify a friend that you have blocked them.
  • check Because other users' privacy settings dictate the publicizing of some elements, you may need to unlike your activity to block it from the view of others. For example, if you have liked another user's photo, that user's privacy settings dictate how people see your activity, so only an unlike will hide it from your timeline. Other activity -- for example, when you like a company's page -- also gives you the "Hide From Timeline" option, which maintains your like but blocks it from being viewed by others.
  • check Blocking a person limits him from seeing everything on your timeline, not just the items you like. Blocking also restricts others from tagging you, inviting you to events or groups, starting a conversation or private message with you or adding you as a friend. It is also reciprocal -- you are unable to do things such as tag, invite or message those users you have blocked.

About the Author

Based in Tampa, Fla., Danielle Fernandez been writing, editing and illustrating all things technology, lifestyle and education since 1999. Her work has appeared in the Tampa Tribune, Working Mother magazine, and a variety of technical publications, including BICSI's "Telecommunications Distribution Methods Manual." Fernandez holds a bachelor's degree in English from the University of South Florida.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images