How to Block Someone Who Has Already Blocked You on Facebook

by Sarah Morse
Although blocking eliminates most communication avenues, that person may still see your comments on timelines of mutual friends.

Although blocking eliminates most communication avenues, that person may still see your comments on timelines of mutual friends.

When someone blocks you on Facebook, you can no longer write on that person's timeline, start a conversation with him, tag him in photos or even find him in search. Although blocking goes both ways, meaning that the person who blocked you loses his privileges as well, he can always unblock you to regain those privileges. If you want to make sure that person stays blocked even if he unblocks you, you can do so only if you have the email address he uses to access his Facebook account.

1

Click the padlock icon in the blue bar at the top your Facebook page. This is a shortcut icon to your important privacy settings.

2

Choose "How do I stop someone from bothering me" to open the blocking form.

3

Enter the email address of the user you would like to block and click "Block." Although the directions say you can also enter a name, since this person has already blocked you, that method will not work.

Tip

  • check You can see a list of blocked users, and unblock them if you wish, by clicking the gear icon, choosing "Privacy Settings" and selecting "Blocking" in the left column.

About the Author

Sarah Morse has been a writer since 2009, covering environmental topics, gardening and technology. She holds a bachelor's degree in English language and literature, a master's degree in English and a master's degree in information science.

Photo Credits

  • photo_camera Hemera Technologies/AbleStock.com/Getty Images